Junior’s


New York City is well known for having its own style of popular foods that are unique to the city; Bagels, pizza, hot dogs, etc.  But for some reason, New York Style Cheesecake always seems to be forgotten (or shows up further down on the list of New York specific foods).  I don’t get it, cheesecake is really good.

I don’t remember how or when I first heard about Junior’s.  In fact, I was not planning on going to Junior’s at all until I was coming out of a Broadway show with a friend and saw the Times Square location.  I thought that it looked familiar and I couldn’t figure out why until I saw their claim of being the “Home of the World’s Most Fabulous Cheesecake”.  That’s when it clicked and my friend and I grabbed a slice of cheesecake and found table in Times Square.

I opted for the Apple Crumb Cheesecake, and it was such a great decision.  The only regret (if you can even regret eating cheesecake) that I had was that I didn’t try an Original Plain NY Cheesecake, but I remedied that on a subsequent trip to the city (where I went to the original Junior’s location in Brooklyn, no less).

The cheesecake is dense and creamy, easily an ideal cheesecake.  The aspect that I found unique and interesting was that the crust of the cheesecake was more cake-like than the graham cracker crust that I am accustomed to with cheesecakes.  It is in no way a bad thing, just different.  It truly is a fabulous cheesecake.

Junior’s may not be the very first restaurant to make a NY Cheesecake, but that doesn’t really matter, does it?  They have worked hard at perfecting what would become their signature item, and as a result ended up making one of the best New York Style Cheesecakes in New York City.  There’s something to be said for that.

It may be a bit touristy and the type of place that I avidly try to avoid when in a new city, but the fact remains: Junior’s is worth trying just to say you’ve done it and to have a great piece of NY Style Cheesecake.  “Home of the World’s Most Fabulous Cheesecake” indeed.

Leave a Reply

