Dominique Ansel Bakery


On my very first morning ever in New York City, I accidentally went to Dominique Ansel Bakery for a Cronut.

I was headed somewhere else that morning and mistakenly hopped on an express subway line (as first time New York tourists do) instead of the local subway line that I should have.  So, as I watched my stop whizzing by from the express train I thought, “Welp, you done messed up now.  Just get off at the next stop and figure it out.”  When the express train finally stopped and let me off, I realized that I was close to the Dominique Ansel Bakery and it was about to open.  I figured, I’m already over here, might as well get this Cronut thing that people have been raving about for the past 2 years.

(I want to note here that getting a Cronut was not very high on my list of things to do in New York.  It’s a really cool and innovative idea and everything, but it’s a craze that was sure to fizzle out after a while.  I just happened to end up near the origin of the fad, so why not?)

Anyways, I made it to the bakery about 20 or 30 minutes before it opened and there was already a line forming outside.  Fortunately, I was in the first group of patrons that was allowed inside (they have to stagger and maintain the amount of people in the bakery so that you can actually move around).

Everything in the bakery was stunning.  I wanted to try everything, but I was here for one thing and one thing only – the Cronut.  In the bakery I learned that everyone is limited to buying a maximum of 2 Cronuts to insure that more people can have them.  When I made it to the counter to order, I requested a single, solitary Cronut.  I didn’t know it, but this was a mistake.

I should have realized that this was a mistake when the cashier repeatedly asked me if I was sure that I only wanted one.  I’m just one person, I only need one Cronut!

12374894_2555800650354_3202968943249905285_o
THE Cronut.  In all its glory.

The Dominique Ansel Bakery only serves one type of Cronut and the flavor changes on a monthly basis.  The month I went, the flavor was Gingerbread, Valrhona Milk Chocolate, and Pear (with cinnamon sugar and speculoos cookie). –  Woah.  That’s a complicated flavor profile, and I’m not a huge fan of gingerbread in the first place.  Whatever, I’m already here.  –  I became even more skeptical.

Once I made it out of the bakery with my VIP (very important pastry) and found a place to sit down, I took a bite.  Immediately I realized my folly in only ordering one.  I’ve had Cronuts before, but they were nothing compared to this, the original.  It was incredibly flaky, with cinnamon sugar on every layer, and filled with a pear filling.  None of it made sense in my head, but it all made sense in my mouth.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that – and I couldn’t believe it, but – the Cronut from Dominique Ansel Bakery, exceeds the hype.  Think about that for a minute; you’ve heard of the Cronut, it was huge, it was everywhere, everyone was talking about it.  It’s BETTER than that.

The Cronut from Dominique Ansel Bakery is one of the best things I ate in New York.  Wow.

 

Leave a Reply

